Turning Mirrors into Windows.

“I have an interest in education.
Actually, what I find is Everybody has an interest in education.
Don’t you?

It’s one of those things that goes deep with people, like money, religion and other things.”

Classical education was based on the seven liberal arts or sciences: grammar, the formal structures of language; rhetoric, composition and presentation of argument; dialectic, formal logic; arithmetic; geometry; music; astronomy. For centuries, the classics dominated the very idea of being educated and attempts at reform were resisted.

But look at the Indian Paradigm of today, I come from a group of people (This I am ashamed to admit), who think that Economics and commerce is an “Art”. This misconception is due to the fact that the Early British Regime segregated the “Harder Sciences” ( say Mathematics,Physics and Chemistry) from the Softer Sciences, and the end result was the “Arts and Science” group. The British however understood the distinction between Art and Science but sadly many of my peers today Do NOT.

Economics is based on solid facts and numbers, it is Science( In some ways more than Physics or Chemistry). I would just like to clear that up.
Roger Miller Summed it up best.
mirrors-into-windows

Have you ever wondered why the typical classroom, when asked a question responds with almost the exact same words, in the very same order. Why are we incapable of answering questions (Disregard for a minute the “Correctness” for these answers) that are as unique as say, your personality?
Why is it that when asked a question about your taste in music, everyone in class has a unique answer but when asked for insight into matters of text, we only hear unintelligible droll?
Why hasn’t education taught us to form opinions based on facts? Instead of just reciting facts. Why were you never taught what it meant to actually experience emotion?
Even the elite “Nerds” of today don’t exactly wonder why.Our schools have a doubly hard task, not just improving reading, writing and arithmetic but entrepreneurship, innovation and creativity.

Producing works of art doesn’t often count as appropriate intellectual work in an arts department: yet the equivalent in a science department, doing physics or chemistry, does. So why is it that in universities writing about novels is thought to be a higher intellectual calling than writing novels; or rather, if writing novels is not thought to be intellectually valid, why is writing about them?

If all you had was academic ability, you wouldn’t have been able to get out of bed this morning. In fact there wouldn’t have been a bed to get out of. No one could have made one. You could have written about the possibility of one, but not have constructed it. Don’t mistake me, I think that academic work – and the disciplines and abilities it can promote – are absolutely vital in education, and to the full development of human intelligence and capacity. But they are not the whole of them. Yet our education systems are completely preoccupied with these abilities to the virtual exclusion of many others that are equally vital – capacities that becoming more important every day.

“So if I asked you about art, you’d probably give me the skinny on every art book ever written. Michelangelo, you know a lot about him. Life’s work, political aspirations, him and the pope, sexual orientations, the whole works, right? But I’ll bet you can’t tell me what it smells like in the Sistine Chapel. You’ve never actually stood there and looked up at that beautiful ceiling; seen that. If I ask you about women, you’d probably give me a syllabus about your personal favorites. You may have even been laid a few times. But you can’t tell me what it feels like to wake up next to a woman and feel truly happy. You’re a tough kid. And I’d ask you about war, you’d probably throw Shakespeare at me, right, “once more unto the breach dear friends.” But you’ve never been near one. You’ve never held your best friend’s head in your lap, watch him gasp his last breath looking to you for help. I’d ask you about love, you’d probably quote me a sonnet. But you’ve never looked at a woman and been totally vulnerable. Known someone that could level you with her eyes, feeling like God put an angel on earth just for you. Who could rescue you from the depths of hell. And you wouldn’t know what it’s like to be her angel, to have that love for her, be there forever, through anything, through cancer. And you wouldn’t know about sleeping sitting up in the hospital room for two months, holding her hand, because the doctors could see in your eyes, that the terms “visiting hours” don’t apply to you. You don’t know about real loss, ’cause it only occurs when you’ve loved something more than you love yourself. And I doubt you’ve ever dared to love anybody that much. And look at you… I don’t see an intelligent, confident man… I see a cocky, scared shitless kid.I can’t learn anything from you, I can’t read in some fuckin’ book. Unless you want to talk about you, who you are. Then I’m fascinated. I’m in. But you don’t want to do that do you sport? You’re terrified of what you might say. Your move, chief. “

P.S-
For anyone who’s reading this, I would be utterly delighted if you could spare a few minutes from your busy day, and take a look at the video below ( I swear, it’s worth it 🙂 ).

2 thoughts on “Turning Mirrors into Windows.

  1. Amazing! There are many who realize this problem, but never find a solution. One of my dreams is to find a solution! Because I consider myself a victim of this system. Many have risen above this, but I couldn’t. I will make sure another generation doesnt suffer because of this.

Leave a Reply

