I have a Dream

I Have a Dream

by Martin Luther King, Jr.

I am happy to join with you today in what will go down in history as the greatest demonstration for freedom in the history of our nation.

Five score years ago, a great American, in whose symbolic shadow we stand today, signed the Emancipation Proclamation. This momentous decree came as a great beacon light of hope to millions of Negro slaves who had been seared in the flames of withering injustice. It came as a joyous daybreak to end the long night of their captivity.

Well, martin Luther King,Jr was a revolutionary and someone who inspired millions of people and I believe it was because he was a man of conviction, a man who stood up for what he believed in, but most of all because he was a man who had a DREAM.

Most of you might be wondering why I’m talking about this now,well it’s not a real mystery, I’m just an Indian teenager who get’s absolutely no recognition, no credibility, no loyal following, and the rest.
But I did realize something, what I do have, a Voice.
What’s the use of having a voice when you don’t speak up, or sometimes even shout?A battle cry, maybe?

And I’m pretty sure the news going around the block is that India has banned Homosexual relationships.

BN-AS962_igay12_G_20131210231015

I’m ASHAMED that I live in the largest democracy in the world and yet the country is currently destroying ever sense of the word.It’s alienating people,it’s decreeing laws that have passed the point of absurdity.That leads me to question this, Are we even a Democracy?

I’m here to tell you, I’ve dreams too.Most of them are superficial and insignificant and well extravagant too.But there’s this one dream that’s being bulldozed right now.I want every human in this world to be treated as equals.I’ll tell you this, I’m NOT gay and I’m not black, I’m a Hindu and straight, I am what represents the larger mass of the Indian populace and I’ll tell you that I do not agree with this law.And so will the Billion other people in MY country.And yet our legislature does not seem to agree, I’m no social analyst and quite frankly put it is not in my intellectual capacity to ascertain as to why and how these laws were passed but I am certain that as an individual in this “democracy” I am entitled to my opinion and I can voice my views on any issue!(well, assuming India by the time I publish this post is still a democracy and no law against the freedom of speech has been passed.)

You may also wonder why the sudden self empowerment speech and why am I even writing this post? Can I even make a dent?I know I most probably won’t but that doesn’t mean I can’t try.What matters is that I want to make a difference!I’m willing to be the “greater fool” and also this was triggered as I was up to my usual procrastination on Facebook and was actually involved in a  “discussion” (for lack of a better word). And someone just said

You know the worst part is that we will discuss about this for the length of another 40-50 comments and we log out and we don’t even do anything to make sure our voices are heard or do anything with regard to this matter, so in a way whatever we comment is pointless (No offence to anyone here).

Well that was what ultimately got me here.

Is it wrong?
Is it wrong?

The Supreme Court judgment thus criminalized the personal behavior of consenting adults.All those who are born with or choose a different sexual orientation would thus be placed at the mercy of the police.This not only violates the human rights of such individuals, but goes against the liberal values of our constitution and the spirit of our times.

I am a homosexual; a homosexual in the largest democracy in the world. Things should be easier for me with superlatives like that, but they aren’t. In fact they have been difficult.

It took me many years to gain the courage to look into the mirror and tell myself that the person I see is gay.

I faced homophobia at a time that I wasn’t even sure of my sexuality.

This is what people in India go through just because they have a different sexual preference.
Is this the modern world?Modern Ideals, contemporary Ideas?A society where all are equal? Where superstition is abolished and people are open-minded and embrace the differently cognitive with a smile?
Well, I don’t think we need an answer to that question.

But what I do want an answer from everyone is that,Don’t you share this Dream?
The Dream of equality, amongst all humans irrespective of caste,creed,sexual orientation,religion,appearance.Why be so judgmental?

I’m here right now,

Because I have a DREAM….. Do you?

Leave a Reply

